You’re Most Creative When You’re Exhausted!

Did you know that it’s been scientifically proven that you’re most creative when you’re exhausted?

It’s not even your mind playing tricks on you, it’s like a stress response from when you’re sleep deprived.  You’re also more emotional too, meaning better writing.   

It sounds really strange, and at first I was like, ‘no way, that doesn’t make sense’ but after I thought about it for a few moments I realized that its kinda true.  I mean, most of the chapters I am most proud of as a writer are a result of me staying up until at least midnight and usually one or two in the morning, holed up in my room with the internet disconnected.  I like to think that you aren’t sane enough in the middle of the night to stop yourself from writing something you normally wouldn’t.  I mean, think about it.  The ‘risky’ stuff.  The stuff you think about writing but then think, no, envisioning your relatives or friends reading it and then thinking about how weird you might be for writing something so odd.  In the middle of the night, at least for me, I just forget about whatever anyone else thinks and I write whatever I want.  I wait until morning to remind myself how weird it is.  And usually, it ends up being not as strange as I had previously envisioned.    

So, if you’re having writer’s block or just wanting to write better, I suggest you either stay up, or get up, in the middle of the night to write and see what kind of lovely things flow from your mind. 😉  I usually find it helpful to disconnect from the internet as well, as things like youtube, twitter and pinterest are just way too wonderful and addicting.  At least for me.  They just suck my time away from me.

Anyway, have a good day!  

 

~ Pauline    

Leave a Reply

